Cauliflower Fried Rice

friedrice

My husband is now pretty strictly eating Paleo, which is tough for me because I like rice and corn! I have heard about how you can use cauliflower as a sub for rice for a while now but haven’t really bought into the idea, until last night when I made it for the first time. It was sooo good! My oldest daughter was gobbling it up – and she hates cauliflower! She was choosing to eat the “rice” over spaghetti, which is saying something!

I found already ground up cauliflower at our local grocery store, Harris Teeter. You can always use a food processor with the grating attachment. I found the recipe on pinterest, and didn’t have everything she called for, but it was still delicious!

Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon +1 tsp sesame oil

2 eggs

1 small head cauliflower, grated

½ cup frozen mixed vegetables

2 green onions

3 cloves garlic, minced

salt and pepper

3 Tablespoons gluten free soy sauce

Directions:

Combine 1 tsp sesame oil with eggs in a bowl, whisk to combine.

Heat 1 Tablespoon sesame oil in a wok over high heat. Add 4 cups cauliflower, green onions and frozen mixed vegetables. Stir fry until cauliflower is becoming tender.  My wok is old so I had to keep adding more sesame oil so it wouldn’t burn.   Add garlic, season with salt and pepper and continue to stir fry for another minute or so.

Push the mixture to the sides to create a hole in the center then add the eggs and scramble. Toss the mixture to combine, then drizzle in gluten free soy sauce, mix to combine.

Enjoy!

friedrice

Leave a Reply

