Sweet Potato Bites

fullsizerender-9

Trying to find gluten/dairy free appetizers can sometimes be a challenge.  So many dips have cream cheese or sour cream and while there are dairy free versions of those, sometimes the taste is off.  I stumbled across this recipe on pinterest when I was looking for a Paleo appetizer as someone who was coming over to our house doesn’t eat grains of any kind.  The original recipe does call for dairy and I just omitted those ingredients.

I actually loved these.  Like, really loved them.  Could have eaten the whole platter by myself loved them.  Want to make them tomorrow so I can have more loved them.  But I am a sweet potato fanatic.  Love guacamole and bacon makes everything good.  How can combining them can go wrong?

Ingredients:

2 sweet potatoes, cleaned, skins on

2 Tablespoons olive oil

2 ripe avocados

Lime juice

Salt and Pepper

4 slices of bacon

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.  Brush 1/2 Tablespoon of olive oil on the aluminum foil.

Slice potatoes into 1/4 – 1/2 inch slices.  You can use a mandolin but I just eye balled it and used a sharp kitchen knife.  Arrange slices on the prepared baking sheet.  Brush tops with remaining olive oil.  I think I used another 3 Tablespoons of olive oil.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Roast for 20-25 minutes, then flip.  Roast an additional 8 minutes.

While your potatoes are roasting in the oven, make your guacamole.  I just mash up the avocado, add lime juice/salt to taste.

Fry up your bacon slices – I started cooking the bacon after I popped the potatoes into the oven.  Drain slices and chop once cooled.

Once your potatoes have finished roasting, put them on the plate you are serving them with.  Place a dollop of guacamole and sprinkle the chopped bacon on top.  Serve.

Enjoy!

fullsizerender-27

Leave a Reply

