One-Pan Roast Chicken and Potatoes

img_0105

This is a family favorite.  The potatoes of this dish are really the star of the show.  They are so flavorful and a nice combination of crunchy and soft.  I cheated a little bit this time and put some more potatoes on the top layer.  I also like to add brussel sprouts to this dish so you are getting protein, starch and veggie in one dish, all cooking at one time!  Pop it into the oven, and forget about it!  😉

Feel free to play around with the seasonings for the chicken.  I do it differently every time based on what I have on hand.

Ingredients:

3 T olive oil

2 tsp fresh thyme (or 1 tsp dried)

1 1/2 tsp smoked paprika

1 1/2 tsp grated lemon zest

salt and pepper

1 whole chicken, giblets discarded

3 potatoes, peeled, and sliced into 1 inch thick rounds

Bag of brussel sprouts, bottoms trimmed, halved (if you want)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Combine 2 tablespoons oil, thyme, paprika, lemon zest, 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper in a bowl.  Rinse chicken, and pat dry with paper towels.  Carefully separate the skin from the breast.  Rub oil mixture all over the chicken and underneath the skin.  Now, it says to tie legs together with kitchen twin and tuck wingtips behind the back.  I never do this.  My friend who told me about this recipe teases me that my chicken doesn’t look pretty when it cooks because I don’t tie the legs back.  So if you want a pretty chicken while cooking, tie the legs.  🙂

Toss potatoes with 1 Tablespoon oil, 1 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper.  Arrange potatoes flat side down, in a single layer in an oven safe skillet.  I use my cast iron skillet.  Place skillet over medium heat and cook potatoes, without moving them, until brown on the bottom, 7-9 minutes.  Don’t flip!

img_0099

Sometimes I take my brussel sprouts and boil them for 5 minutes to help them soften.  Then toss in about 1 Tablespoon olive oil, 1tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper – or to your tastes.

Once your potatoes are brown on the bottom, remove from heat.  Place chicken on top of the potatoes and sprinkle brussel sprouts around the edges of the chicken.

fullsizerender-31

Put the skillet in the oven and cook for 1 hour to 1 1/4 hours.  My chicken is typically done around 1 hour but check yours with a meat thermometer.  The chicken breast should read 165 and the legs 175 degrees.  Remove chicken from skillet and allow to rest tented in aluminum foil for 10 minutes.  If your potatoes need more cooking you can place back into oven.  Mine are usually done by now, so I turn the oven off but place skillet back into the oven to keep them warm.

Carve the chicken and serve with potatoes and brussel sprouts.

Enjoy!

img_0101

Leave a Reply

