Peanut Butter Frosting

img_0048

Now that I can’t make buttercream frosting (yum!!) I normally just buy the stuff in the can.  Pillsbury has a vanilla frosting that is dairy free, so that’s my go to.  I know it’s nasty and loaded with chemicals, but we can eat it.

Now, I love peanut butter.  I also love chocolate.  Why not put them together in a form of a cupcake?  I found this frosting recipe on Joy Food Sunshine and didn’t make any changes except the type of peanut butter used.  Now, I ruined the first batch of this frosting.  I whipped it on high in my stand up mixer, like you would making buttercream frosting.  Don’t do that!!  It was fluffy looking then separated and I couldn’t fix it.  So make sure to keep the mixer on low.  My frosting also did not turn out as thick as hers so I didn’t add the almond milk to mine.  After decorating my cupcakes, I needed to put it in the fridge to get the icing to set up.

Ingredients:

3/4 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup coconut oil

1/2 tsp vanilla

2 cups powdered sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup almond milk

Instructions:

Melt coconut oil and peanut butter together, stirring until completely combined.  Let mixture cool completely.

Pour the cooled mixture into the bowl of a stand alone mixer.  Add vanilla, powdered sugar and salt.  Beat (with the shield in place, otherwise you’ll have powdered sugar flying everywhere!) until well combined, scraping the sides.

Again, I didn’t add the almond milk because my icing was too runny.  I brought these to a party so my daughter and I could have a gluten and dairy free dessert to eat.  I sort of hid them and when I went to get my daughter’s dinner, I noticed 5 were missing already!  Guests were scarfing them down and they had no idea they were dairy/gluten free.  Definitely a keeper!

img_0049

One thought on “Peanut Butter Frosting

  1. I always just used margarine when I made buttercream, since we never bought butter. It worked. I know some has dairy, but that wasn’t an issue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

