BLT Macaroni Salad

fullsizerender-30

We decided to have a fun Fall cook out this week at our house. We cooked hot dogs and sausages over the fire pit and ate dinner around the fire.  I don’t typically make a lot of salads with a mayo base because my children won’t often eat it. But I had a hankering for a macaroni salad and set out to search for recipe that had a different kind of twist to the classic recipe. I stumbled across She Wears Many Hats BLT Macaroni salad recipe and had everything to make this already at home. Score!  Her version is not dairy/gluten free but easily adaptable.

I halved her recipe because I thought my children wouldn’t eat this. My oldest daughter says, I want to try some of that yummy looking salad. She loved it and had two huge helpings!!

Here’s my adapted version to serve 4-6:

Ingredients:

8 ounces gluten free macaroni noodles, cooked

1/3 cup mayonnaise (plus 3-4 Tablespoons)

1.5 T rice vinegar

½ tsp garlic powder

½ tsp salt

¾ tsp pepper

4 pieces of bacon, crumbled

½ cup chopped tomato, I used cherry tomatoes quartered

½ cup chopped baby spinach

3-4 Tablespoons coconut milk

Instructions:

Cook macaroni, drain and set aside.

Mix together the remaining ingredients, except the 3 Tablespoons of mayo and coconut milk, while the macaroni is cooking. Toss with the macaroni. I added a tablespoon of coconut milk and mayo at first then put in the refrigerator until we were ready to eat. When I pulled the salad out of the refrigerator, it needed another tablespoon of each before serving. So add a little extra mayo and coconut milk until you get the consistency you like.

fullsizerender-30

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

